Positive vibes.

There’s been a lot of negativity around lately. Over the weekend, I was hit by it very hard. Hearing about the difficulties even professional, well established authors face trying to live off their work, seeing another author meltdown this morning, coupled with being at that stage of editing where everything seems futile … I’m pretty sure that anyone who reads this has either been there personally or is friends with/follows enough authors to know how it goes! To counter this, I thought I’d gather together some of my best sources of hope when looking for encouragement to keep going on this writing thing.

Self-publishing guides!

First of all: APE: Author Publisher Entrepeneur by Guy Kawasaki and Shawn Welch. Practical, immediately applicable advice (except maybe the bit about the macbook air) and delivered in a way that made me feel for the first time that publishing a book was within my capabilities. The link above takes you to Bookbaby, where by signing up to their newsletters, you can download the book free. I absolutely believe it is worth it!

A very strong second: Joanna Penn.
She has a book and a blog where she delivers self-publishing advice drawn from her own experience as a writer of thrillers. I actually see a lot of interesting stuff on her site that I’m going to have to catch up on!

NaNoWriMo!

I was first introduced to Penn and Kawasaki’s work through NaNoWriMo! I am pretty sure that you are already with the benefits of signing up to this particular writing challenge — walking away with 50,000 words under your belt, making writing friends, and learning to set and reach regular writing goals, for a start! But if you win Nano, you get a host of free stuff, discounts and the like! I got a ton of free e-books and Scrivener at a discount thanks to NaNo!

Editing? You’re not alone!

Ellen Brock is possibly the best thing that has happened to me this month. The woman is uncanny. The Novel Boot Camp she is hosting for free on her blog is designed to help people with a novel draft kick it into shape. She sets homework, has created interactive workshops and posts regular, informative lectures. This is not a new thing. Ellen works as a freelance editor, and regularly takes time out on her blog to offer advice to authors. You can find the boot camp lectures and other informative posts by Ellen here!

Finally: The more you read!

This will sound dumb, but in focusing on refining and polishing my draft, I’d forgotten how much fun just reading is. I have loaded up my kindle with a couple of classic murder mysteries and am immersing myself in pure popular fiction. Love it!

If you’ve got any suggestions for other ways that I can kick these negative vibes before they become a bad habit next time round, let me know! I would love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

