Writing Resources:

My friend, Hina, is getting more into writing and she asked me what the resources I used were. After flailing at her excitedly, I realised that I needed to take the time and make a proper, organized list. And voila! That is today’s post.

Before we get into that, exciting news! Nominations for the M/M Romance Group’s Readers Choice Awards are underway, and there are some familiar faces among the nominees! Firstly, Bree Archer has been nominated twice in Best Cover Art, for both my Deep Magic and Sera Trevor’s The Troll Whisperer! I am stoked — I will tell anyone who listens how much I love working with Bree! Every single cover she has made for me has been a winner in my opinion, and I am very pleased to see her getting some recognition!

The Top Floor by K.C. Faelan is also getting attention! It is nominated in Best Historical along with Anne Barwell’s On Wings of Song. Top Floor is also nominated in Best LOR story by Deep Magic and The Troll Whisperer along with Kaje Harper’s Chasing Death Metal Dreams, Cari Z’s Ten Simple Tips for Surviving the Apocalypse and many, many more!

Sera’s other LOR story, A Shadow on the Sun, appears in Best Friends to Lovers, and K.C. and Alexis Woods Metamorphic Heart appears in Best Long Story. Personally, I am very pleased to see Deep Magic in Best Paranormal and The Biggest Scoop in Best Coming of Age. I’m sure it is hopelessly uncool to get excited now — we’re just at the nomination stage! Voting won’t start until January 1st … but I am very pleased to see so many of my favourite people represented in the nominations! Nominations remain open until Dec 25th, so there is still time to add your favourite stories of the year to the lists!


 

And now that’s out of my system … Writing Resources!

Books.

Writing Faster FTW by L.A. Witt. Currently about halfway through this. It’s good, very similar to Rachel Aaron’s writing book, but as Rachel Aaron’s advice worked for me, I’m finding L.A. Witt’s take on it very useful.

Rachel Aaron’s 2000 to 10, 000: How to write faster, write better, and write more of what you love. Exactly what it says on the cover.

Author Publisher Entrepeneur: How to Publish a Book by Kawasaki and Welch. A fantastic book about self-publishing.

Write Your Novel From the Middle, by James Scott Bell. I love this book! It has been amazingly useful and I cannot recommend it enough.

Story Trumps Structure by Steven James. Again, a good book though I haven’t referred to it as much as I do James Scott Bell.

The Fire in Fiction by Donald Maass. Again, very good!

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Browne and Dave King — good, solid advice!

The Elements of Style by Strunk and White. Also in a similar vein, Eats, Shoots, and Leaves although I know people who were driven up the wall by this one.

On Writing by Stephen King. I haven’t read this yet, but it comes highly recommended by Joanna Penn and James Scott Bell, so I intend to check it out. I also want to track down a copy of Bird by Bird, by Anne Lamott.

Blogs.

Ellen Brock, freelance editor and organizer of the novel boot camp. 

Pratentious Title.  Rachel Aaron’s blog. Updates every Wednesday with a variety of writing advice from getting unstuck to NaNo to selling books. Self-published and Trad-published.

Podcasts.

The Creative Penn podcast. Joanna Penn is always cheerful, always inspiring and always informative. She is a strong proponent of self-publishing, but her podcast interviews cover a wide range of subjects.

Jeff and Will’s Big Gay Fiction Podcast. I just like these guys a lot, okay? As I’ve said before, writing is a solitary pursuit, but listening to Jeff and Will share their NaNo experiences went a long way to making me feel less alone during November!

Writing Excuses. This gets recommended to me a lot but … I don’t get it. Why do I need an excuse not to write? Or are we supposed to need an excuse to write? Including it in case it is helpful to others but this one is not for me.

Pro-blogger. This is more for non-fiction/blogging people, but occasionally an episode will come along that speaks to me. Darren is honest in talking about the mistakes he’s made, his methods and is very motivational.

I Don’t Even Own a Television. Because sometimes you need to be reminded that the story you’re writing is not the worst thing ever written — by listening to a podcast about terrible books.

I’m going to end this list here before it gets too ridiculously big, but please share any resources you’ve found useful in the comments!

5 comments

  1. Congratulations, Gillian on the nominations! Love the Deep Magic cover 🙂 Thanks for mentioning Top Floor in your post. I’m excited it was nominated in two categories. And I’m excited about the nomination for Metamorphic Heart also.

    I need to post about the awards event on my blog. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    1. I am glad that it is not just me getting excited!

      Knowing how hard you worked on Top Floor and Metamorphic Heart both, I’m really pleased to see them nominated. It makes the effort and the long wait seem very worth it, right?

Leave a Reply

