While Writing This Post a Poisonous Centipede Crawled Across my Sofa. It is Now Dead.

It’s been a really, really weird ten days. The same day Morgen Curse was released, irl came out of left field with something that potentially could have had me leaving Japan and heading home two months early. The situation was entirely out of my hands which made things worse–I hate waiting and doing nothing, and there was nothing I could do but wait, doing nothing, while my employers sorted it out. Luckily, the situation resolved happily yesterday, and I just had my first day back at work since this started. I have never been more excited to go to work!

A lot of really intense stuff went down in those ten days. Among them, the latest conversation about e-book piracy. Because I have a lot of writer and responsible reader friends on facebook, I ended up seeing the conversation a lot. While I only saw posts along the lines of Sarah Madison’s Dear Broke Reader (whose eloquent rebuttal and the support it has been given are very cheering), the fact that it kept popping up on my feed in varying guises again and again began to have a very depressing effect. Coupled with the stress of my real life uncertainty, this conversation started to eat at me.

I didn’t know if I could write. If I could write, would it even be worth the effort? I was kidding myself. And on and on and on–writer-brain has advantages, but shutting up when you want it to shut up is not one of them. Luckily, I’d made a promise to my writing partner, and I knew I had to try and keep it.

I wrote 250 words day one, 500 words day 2. Words started to come more easily. I stopped checking facebook so frequently, and hit 2500 words on day four –and then every day since. And in doing so, I discovered again what a comfort it is to have writing to turn to when real life gets too much. In short, I rediscovered how fun it is to lose yourself in writing. And that feeling can’t be pirated.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to check my apartment for more centipedes.

6 comments

  1. I really want a photo of the poisonous centipede, but it sounds like that would have been the last thing on your mind. I’m glad things got sorted out, but wow, sucky and stressful.

    1. You’re the second person to ask for a photo! I actually still have the centipede, in a plastic bag in the rubbish bin. When they die, they curl up, so a photo won’t convey the true horror but I will see what I can do!

Leave a Reply

