2 comments

  1. That was a good post đŸ™‚ I agree Kanji is hard, and understanding the more popular Kanji words helps. Can you read Hiragana and Katakana? Those were the first two I learned and there’s a lot that can be read with just those two.

    1. I can read Hiragana and Katakana, but since Japanese has so many similar sounding words, I find reading a passage of straight hiragana a lot harder than Kanji and Hiragana in conjunction. From memory, the children’s picture book that had me so depressed when I lived in Sendai was written entirely in Hiragana. Great for Japanese kids who knew where words ended and the next word began, not so great for me.

Leave a Reply

