Goodbye June! Hello, July.

If you’ve been following this blog, you already know that June has been an intense roller coaster of a month. In addition to what I’ve already shared, I have handed in my resignation, bought plane tickets home, reserved my place at the Romance Writers of New Zealand conference and started the process of moving countries. I feel excited and scared. With so much global insecurity, every instinct I have is telling me to cling as hard as possible to what is safe and known–but it is time to move on. I will miss Japan, my schools and my friends here so much, but I have new challenges awaiting me in New Zealand.

June Goals:

  • Get back into the habit of writing everyday — very, very close! I gave myself a couple of days off, because I needed a break, but I think that I met the intention if not the rule of my goal. I am definitely back in a writing routine which is what I wanted.
  • Get at least 50% through the draft of Uprooted–Currently, I am at 93,870 words out of an anticipated 110,000–85% if you believe my math. I’m happy with that.

July Goals:

  • Finish Uprooted draft. This is definitely priority number one!
  • Get Uprooted tidied up with a view to submission.
  • Have the best possible final weeks at my school.
  • Get cracking on all of that moving business.
  • Plot secret seasonal submission.

I have no idea how reasonable these goals are. Crunch time is getting closer and I feel woefully unprepared. I am going to make taking care of myself a priority, and trying to reduce stress as much as possible–so I might switch to weekly blog updates. We’ll see how things go!

I hope that we all have a much happier July.

Leave a Reply

