Long time no update.

It’s been a while! Apologies. Usually when I drop off the face of the world like this, there are two possible explanations.

  1. Things in real life are happening too fast for me to keep up with.
  2. A story has taken off and I am devoting every spare second to writing.

In this case, it was both of the above! For most of October, I was my sister’s go-to babysitter which was awesome fun, but meant that I was kept very busy! I also caught my adorable niece’s not as adorable head-cold, and set a date for my driving test which means that it’s been a squeeze to get enough lessons in. As for writing…

img_0777

Instant Mermaid: Just Add Tea

As you can see I found the perfect mug to get me through writing Morgen Song. Many, many cups of tea have been consumed with the result that the story is about 80% complete, and a cover design is on its way. I am not as far along in the process as I wanted to be, but I finally feel like I have a handle on what needs to happen next. It’s going to be a challenge getting everything together in time, but I am shooting for a November release.

This seems like a good time for an update.

October goals:

-Finish Morgen Song draft

-Read and review 4 books

I did not accomplish either of those goals. I got stuck at the end point of my draft with the problem that the story had developed such that the original ending didn’t feel satisfying, but it took me awhile to find the right ending. I think I have it now, I just need to write it. Likewise, I read over four books. Unfortunately, they were the wrong books! In an effort to find a better ending, I’ve been reading a ton of writing craft books. They’ve been great and really useful, but not good when all you really want to do is sit down with My Boyfriend’s Back, the book you’ve been waiting for months to read.
 And then there’s NaNoWriMo-which leads into November goals:
-Do NaNo ie. write 5ok of a brand new never before written story!
-Finish writing, revise, edit, proof-read, format and finally publish Morgen Song
-read My Boyfriend’s Back.
My Nano project is a bit of a departure. I love vintage mysteries–Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Ngaio Marsh, Gladys Mitchell … Just love them. My family are big into murder mysteries, too. Ever since I shared with my family that I write, I’ve wanted to write something that they could share since they’re not really into paranormal romances. So, I’ve decided to try my hand at an old-fashioned whodunnit. I’ve got no idea if I can pull it off, but I’m going to have fun trying. In order to get into the right head-space, I’ve been marathon-reading Agatha Christie and P.G. Wodehouse novels like nothing else which has been great fun.
I’ve got my work cut out for me, and there is every chance that I might disappear until November is over, but I’m also looking forward to it. Wish me luck!

One comment

Leave a Reply

