Geeking Out at Farmhouse Tea Rooms, Charteris Bay.

I’m having such an amazing time in Diamond Harbour that I wanted to share some of my explorations. On Friday I drove to Orton Bradley Park in Charteris Bay. The Orton Bradley Park has some historic buildings, a patch of preserved forest, walking tracks and an organic dairy. I was there for the Farmhouse Tea Rooms.

img_2229

The Tea Rooms opened in December. It’s housed in the reconstructed farmhouse that was home for the original owners. It prides itself on strong tea and old-fashioned cakes. Tea is strictly loose-leaf and served on a beautiful tea service. The staff dress in Victorian costume.

img_2212

I am in love. Basically, having a fancy, Victorian style tea parlour was a long-held fantasy of mine that I eventually gave up on (I was going to call it OTT), because I decided that was the sort of thing that couldn’t possibly happen in real life. Not true! They’re doing it–and they’re doing it in isolated and under-populated Charteris Bay. I love these people.

Before I’d even finished my scones, I was on the phone to Mum, telling her we have to bring Grandma here. It’s that good. And yes, they do coffee and more than sweets–I ended up getting a gluten free bacon and egg pie to take home (it was made with hash browns instead of pastry and was so, so good).

img_2217

And then it got better. This will only make sense if you’ve read Uprooted (much like my last blog post actually), but while I was admiring the farm buildings and finding many, many things that reminded me of Nate’s home in Little River, I wandered outside into the garden. Wow, this is so similar to the farm! I thought. I wonder if there is an oak tree here. That would make it perfect.

I didn’t find an oak. I found a chestnut tree.

IMG_2231.JPG

Wow.

Leave a Reply

