Auckland Haul!

Did I mention I was in Auckland? I’m in Auckland! And having a great time, mostly thanks to the lovely M. Caspian and the amazing Joanna Penn.

True story: My sister asks me what I’m doing in Auckland and I mention M. Caspian is taking me to the Typo outlet store (Typo being a stationary chain here in NZ). My sister immediately frowns. “And you’re only taking one bag?” I am promptly loaned an extra bag with which to carry home my Typo haul.

Turns out … she knows me very, very well.

img_2326

This is the result of one day in Auckland, one day with Joanna Penn! Writer friends, be jealous–she is even more fun in person than she is on the podcast! She made a lot of really complex material really easy to understand. My brain is fried, but I feel really positive about my plans for the year and enthused about writing.

Breakdown. Auckland adventures started with the aforementioned Typo outlet store, followed by Little and Friday–going to Little and Friday with M. Caspian is my new favourite Auckland tradition. To demonstrate why, here is an orange triceratops trying to steal my lemon and coconut cake.

img_2321

M. Caspian’s bacon and egg pie did not survive long enough for a photo, but it was beautiful. The best bacon and egg pie I have ever been allowed to share (if it had been my pie, I wouldn’t have shared it–M. Caspian is a much better person than me).

From Little and Friday, we went on a stationary and bookstore tour, travelling to The Booklover, a charming independent bookstore, to hunt down a book I’d been asked to find, before continuing on to kikki-k, where we spent a really enjoyable time browsing more stationary. This is where I acquired my beautiful pens!

Saturday was the reason for me coming to Auckland–Joanna Penn’s Successful Self-Publishing Seminar. It was fantastic. 40 people, but it felt like a much smaller group. I saw old friends, made new ones, and left feeling the most enthusiastically exhausted I have been in ages. It was all go–I learned lots of things and am fired up to get to work, which was what I most needed.

And I got the chance to talk to Joanna and tell her just how much her books and podcasts have helped and inspired me over the years! I was not brave enough to ask for a photo together, but I did get this:

img_2328

She signed it for me! (and yes, that is my real name)

I do not think I could have had a better time in Auckland–and I still have two days left! I’m planning to explore Auckland (weather permitting) and share my adventures here on the blog, so stay tuned for more–although I have been banned from entering any other stationary shops.

 

9 comments

    1. Twelve hours! Wow–I hope you feel more awake than I do right now!

      When I got back to my cousin’s last night, I turned my ‘want to do’ things into a list and it ended up taking an entire page and then some in my big notebook. I really wanted to do something on that list while I was still pumped up, and updating my blog was the only thing on that list I had brain power for.

  1. It was so fun meeting you on Saturday, go you for already having a blog up! (I’m totally using moving as my excuse!) Let me know when you’re next in Auckland, it’d be great to catch up again 🙂

    1. Moving is a good excuse–it’s so draining! And it goes on for so long!

      I hope that moving went smoothly for you yesterday and that you are relatively settled today. And yes–I would love to catch up! If you ever find yourself in Christchurch, let me know!

Leave a Reply

